Hit and Run in Gwinnett County GA
A hit and run conviction in Gwinnett County can have a major impact on your life. If you have been charged with hit and run, you need to contact our office immediately. At The Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson, we have been defending drivers for over 25 years. We understand the consequences you are facing and want to help protect your future. Contact us today for a free, no-obligation case evaluation.
Georgia Law on Hit and Run
Under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-270, if a driver is involved in an accident resulting in injury or death of any person or damage of a vehicle must immediately stop at the scene or as close as possible and:
- Give his or her name and address and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is driving;
- Upon request and if it is available, exhibit his or her operator's license to the person struck or the driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle collided with;
- Render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the transporting, or the making of arrangements for the transporting, of such person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such transporting is requested by the injured person; and
- Where a person injured in such accident is unconscious, appears deceased, or is otherwise unable to communicate, make every reasonable effort to ensure that emergency medical services and local law enforcement are contacted for the purpose of reporting the accident and making a request for assistance
The driver must remain at the scene of the accident until all of the requirements have been satisfied. Georgia law also requests that the driver stop without further obstructing traffic.
Penalty for Hit and Run in Gwinnett County GA
In Georgia, hit and run can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the case. While jail time and fines are standard consequences, the defendant will also be subject to a mandatory license suspension as found in O.C.G.A. § 40-5-54.
Misdemeanor Hit and Run in Georgia
For a first offense that caused minor injury or damage, the penalty would be a fine between $300 and $1,0000, and/or up to 12 months in jail. In addition, the accused will be subject to a license suspension for 12 months. However, after 4 months and completion of a Defensive Driving course or Risk Reduction program, they may apply for early reinstatement. There will be a fee between $200-$210 for reinstatement.
A second offense in 5 years that also caused minor injury or damage will result tin a fine between $600 and $1000 and up to 12 months in jail. In addition, there will be a 3 year license suspension with the possibility of early restatement after 4 months. The fee for reinstatement is between $200 and $210 depending of if it is done via mail or in person.
A third conviction in 5 years will result in a $1,000 fine and jail time up to 12 months. After a third conviction, the accused will be deemed a habitual violator and will have their license revoked for 5 years. They will be able to apply for a probationary license after 2 years.
In addition to fines and jail time, you could also be facing community service and probation. But remember, a charge is not the same as a conviction! There are options for you if you have been charged with hit and run and our Hit and Run Lawyers in Gwinnett County know how to mitigate the charges against you and protect your future.
Felony Hit and Run in Georgia
A hit and run charge becomes elevated to a felony if the accident caused serious death or injury. In that situation, the penalty is a prison term between 1 and five years. However, there is also the consequence of having a felony on your permanent record. This can make it difficult to obtain housing, credit, and employment. A felony charge can also result in significant fines, license suspension, and other consequences.
If you or a loved one has been charged with misdemeanor or felony hit and run in Georgia, contact our office immediately. With the significant penalties imposed upon convictions, it is in your best interest to hire Georgia's Best Criminal Lawyers to assist with your case. Our office is open 24 hours a day/7 days a week to take your call.