Reckless Driving

(404) 816-4440

Have You Been Charged with Reckless Driving in Gwinnett County?

When police officers think the safety of other individuals on the road is ignored, it generally results in a charge of reckless driving. Reckless driving may result in an accident, but a driver can still be issued a ticket even if there was no wreck. We help hundreds of clients every year that have been charged with reckless driving. It is considered a serious traffic offense in Gwinnett County and results in 4 points being added to a driver's license. Our Gwinnett County Reckless Driving Lawyers are skilled in investigating cases, developing defenses, and presenting them to the prosecutor and the court.

According to O.C.G.A. §40-6-350, reckless driving occurs when any person drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property.

The question remains “what is reckless driving.” While there is no set standard, it generally includes weaving, excessive speeding, running red lights or stop signs, failing to yield at a right of ways and passing other vehicles over a double yellow line.

The Penalty for Reckless Driving in Gwinnett County

Reckless driving is a misdemeanor charge in Georgia. This means it will come with a fine up to $1,000, up to 12 months in jail, and possibly community service, completion of a drug and alcohol valuation, or other conditions the judge imposes. As stated previously, it will result in 4 points being added to the driver's license. For drivers under 21, their license will be automatically suspended.

Many people seek for their DUI charge to be reduced to reckless driving. Prosecutors sometimes amend DUI charges in cases where a driving offense did occur, but the State is unable to prove it was the result of being under the influence. If charged with a DUI, a reduction to reckless driving is considered a win. The driver will avoid a license suspension and having a DUI on their permanent criminal record.

There are always defenses our Gwinnett County reckless driving attorneys can use in your case. Because the statute is vague, we understand how to make the law work in your favor. What may have been reckless behavior to one officer may not have been reckless in another officer's eyes. Police officers, lawyers, judges, and juries all have different options as to what driving with a reckless disregard for the safety of others means. We know how to make this work for you!

Furthermore, some people were charged with reckless driving after being stopped at a roadblock or not seen driving at all. We know how to use this to our advantage! We have represented hundreds of people charged with reckless driving in Georgia successfully. Let us help you today!

Contact Us

If charged with reckless driving in Gwinnett County, contact a lawyer as soon as possible. Our team of top-rated Gwinnett County Reckless Driving Attorneys will investigate your case, develop possible defenses, and present those defenses to the prosecutor and the court. For more than 20 combined years, our attorneys have saved the drivers license of thousands of Georgia citizens and people visiting the State of Georgia.  Put our experience as former Georgia DUI Prosecutors to work for you.  Your best defense begins now.

You Only Have 30 Days To Save Your Drivers License

Our attorneys will pick up the phone at any time. Call our office now to avoid automatic suspension of your drivers license.

CALL US 24/7

Most Reviewed Law Office in Georgia

We invest 100% of our time, energy and passion into every case to achieve the best results possible.


Two Decades of Experience

Find out why choosing a team with experience can make all the difference in your DUI case.


We've Helped Nearly 5,000 People

Our team is committed to delivering our clients the results that they need after a DUI arrest.